Regrets of a Computer Science Graduate

Fateh Ali Aamir
3 min readSep 21, 2023

I (almost) graduated around two months ago from (apparently) the best tech institute in Pakistan. Now that I’m two months into the industry, I’ve realised that I’m just too unlucky to be here. At this point, I’ve acknowledged the fact that I nearly wasted the last four years of my life. At least that is what I feel right now. So I’m handing down some valuable advice to kids who want to pursue Computer Science and work as a software developer. Let’s begin.

Photo by Kevin Ku on Unsplash

Losing Passion

I was extremely passionate when I started my Bachelor’s degree back in 2019. All that change in a month. It was a slow and painful process but soon enough, I had lost all motivation to go on. The university experience was torturous for me and I just wanted it to be over. I just wanted to escape. To counter this, you must understand why you're doing this. I had just forgotten mine.

Photo by :) :) on Unsplash

Lack of All Trades, Master of None

I did not learn anything during the past four years. Okay, that’s a bit of an exaggeration. I did not learn any useful, marketable skills. I had no title attached to me. I was a mediocre student and an average coder. No one…

--

--